summer is here montréal

Summer has arrived in my  incredibly wonderful  city of Montreal! Here in the Mile-End Plateau, the council seems to be doing an fantastic job in turning the quartier to an eco-conscious, sustainable, and truly livable paradise. More bike lanes, reduction in traffic, larger sidewalks, green spaces, planting of trees, plant distribution and public farmers markets are progressively brought to our neighbourhood. What is best is that most of my friends live within walking or biking distance… pretty lucky stuff I would say.

I will soon be having a little break from my culinary classes for July. I have to say that I am looking forward to taking some time away from school and the kitchen to rejuvenate myself for the next session. Will be doing a stage at l’Hotel W in August for the Banquet course for two weeks. It will be good to actually work in the field rather than in the class room. This last week at school has been a bit arduous. Everyone seems to be burning out a little and the passion or care by my fellow students and the instructors themselves seems to be wading thin these days.  We are all looking forward to getting away from one another. Visiting my family in Vancouver soon! Can’t wait.

