Foodie cooking weekend!

Had a fun weekend of cooking and entertaining for my friends. We had a great surprise BBQ for my friend’s birthday on Saturday where I invited about 15 people to attend, of course 20 arrived along with their kids!!!!  It was hectic but I managed to feed everyone properly and happily. Made burgers, lamb, sausages, vegie burgers, hotdogs for the kids, grilled marinated courgettes, and a special mashed potato which was in my opinion was ma pièce de la resistance! (loads of great stuff such as garlic, butter, and bacon)  mmmm bacon….

Yesterday for some friends hanging and playing music in my apartment for the weekend, I made one of my favorites, Hainan Chicken. Eat was easy and so tasty. For dinner I made a risotto with shitake mushrooms, carrots, courgetts and would you believe cheddar cheese and surprisingly it turned out fucking beautifully. In the middle of preparing the risotto, I had to run to my friend Lucie’s place for some cheese as I realized that I had no more parmasean cheese in the fridge.  Since she only had cheddar, I had no choice but to take what was available and try it. Using the broth that I made for the Hainan Chicken, the risotto, was as good as any that I have tasted anywhere in the world. Believe you me, I have eaten risotto everywhere. This may come as a surprise but damn, it was good… real good.

Leave a Reply

